The session is the council of our congregation. It is composed of those elected to active service as ruling elders and all installed teaching elders. The pastor is the moderator of the Session and the Clerk of Session is the Secretary of the session. We are, however, more than a Board of Directors. We are charged with governing the congregation and guiding its witness to the sovereign activity of God so that our congregation becomes a community of faith, hope, love, and witness. We ensure that the Word of God is rightly proclaimed, that the sacraments are rightly administered and received, and that the covenant community is nurtured as disciples of Christ. (G-3.0201)

Ruling Elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation (G-2.0301)

Ruling Elders are Ministers of Discernment and Governance

Teaching Elders are Ministers of Word and Sacrament

Session Members

  • Vacant, Moderator
  • Jeannie Hawn, Elder through 2019
  • Ken Byers, Elder through 2019
  • Dennis Stoltenberg, Elder through 2019
  • Marcia Schumacher,  Elder through 2020
  • Diana Jacobsen, Elder through 2020
  • Bruce Hasara, Elder through 2020
  • Ann McClain, Elder through 2021
  • Andy Clark, Elder through 2021
  • Lesleigh Wiese, Elder through 2021

I urge the elders, tend the flock of God among you as the shepherds. Watch over it. Don't shepherd because you must but do it voluntarily and with love. Don't shepherd by lording it over them, but be examples to the flock. And when the Chief Shepherd appears, you will receive a crown.

- I Peter 5: 1b-4

Get In Touch

  • 1220 S Market St
    Lake Park, IA 51347
  • 712-832-3401
  • Office Hours: Tue-Fri 9:00am to Noon